2012 NSPA Yearbook Pacemaker Finalists announced


Contact Grace Christiansen, NSPA contest and critique coordinator, grace@studentpress.org

2012 NSPA Yearbook Pacemaker Finalists announced

The 2012 NSPA Yearbook Pacemaker contest, which deadlined on Jan. 15, 2013, yielded a total of 402 entries. A team of judges comprised of experienced journalism professionals and educators traveled to Minneapolis in early February to select the finalists.

View a list of finalists here.

Judges commented that the books chosen as finalists had unique and school year-specific themes, inventive and consistent design, in-depth and well-researched copy, balanced and thorough coverage, beautiful photography and high reader usability.

All high school entries were divided into four proportionate categories based on total page count, and junior high books were judged separately in one category. Judges completed an initial elimination round and considered a number of factors as disqualifiers, such as illegal photo usage or lack of body copy.

After the elimination round, judges spent a day and a half selecting 50 high school yearbook finalists and six junior high finalists.

The Pacemaker winners will be announced for the first time at the Spring JEA/NSPA National High School Journalism Convention in San Francisco, April 25-28. Registration is now open online at studentpress.org/nspa.